20 Apr

The Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Flight Centre saw nine champions crowned today as competitors duked it out in an attempt to bag themselves a coveted title.

Ethan Hartge (Caves Beach, NSW) claimed the biggest win of his young career taking out the 16-and-Under Boys division. Despite remaining in second position to Arch Whiteman (Avalon, NSW) for a solid portion of the heat, Hartge was able to slingshot himself into the top spot thanks to posting a respectable 6.93 wave score to jump into the lead, while Whiteman was left to claim the runner-up spot.

Summa Longbottom (Kirra, Qld) joined Hartge in the 16-and-Under winner’s circle, claiming the Girls division Longbottom was able to get a narrow lead over fellow Gold Coast surfer Shaye Leeuwendal (Currumbin, Qld) thanks to a respectable 6.00 wave score, which allowed her to claim the top spot on the dais.

Marlon Harrison (Coolangatta, Qld) claimed his third Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Flight Centre title in as many years, taking out the 14-and-Under Boys. Harrison posted a near-perfect nine-point ride in the final minutes of the 20-minute affair to gain the upper hand over fellow event standout Lennix Smith (Barrack Point, NSW) who finished the heat in second position.

Despite snapping her board in her semi-final, Grace Kama (Elanora, Qld) was able to borrow her mum’s board for the 14-and-Under Girls final. Kama proceeded to execute a barrage of giant and powerful backside carves and snaps to post an excellent 8.83 wave score and get the upper hand against her opposition.

Willis Droomer (Jan Juc, Vic) made his interstate journey worthwhile, taking out the 12-and-Under Boys. Droomer continued to build on the exciting performances he threw down in the earlier rounds, posting a decent 14.00 heat total to get the win ahead of Mateus Bersot (Maroubra, NSW).

Willow Hardy (Margaret River, WA) added another title in the kitty for the interstate competitors taking out the 12 Girls division. Hardy posted a modest 6.03 wave score for a chain of forehand snaps to get the edge over Amarnie Barber (Peregian, Qld) who finished in the runner-up spot.

Local competitor Will Martin (Coffs Harbour, NSW) finished his Billabong Oz Grom Cup campaign with a bang, locking in a 19.00 two-wave heat total, the highest of the event so far. Martin’s score consisted of a perfect 10-point ride and a 9.00, which left his fellow competitors requiring two-wave totals to take away his lead.

Paddling into waves unassisted paid dividends for Ruby Trew (Seaforth, NSW) in the 10 Girls division as she proceeded to post a perfect 10-point ride. Trew performed an eclectic mix of turns over the course of the final to amass a 17.33 heat total and take the win ahead of Oli Taylor (Peregian, Qld) who finished in second position.

Fletcher O’Sullivan (Sawtell, NSW) ensured a title would remain in the Coffs Harbour region, taking out the 8-and-Under Mixed division. O’Sullivan and runner-up Luca Martin (Coffs Harbour, NSW) both shone in the final with both surfers posting scores near the excellent range, however, O’Sullivan was able to get the nod thanks to a 14.34 total.

All results and two-wave heat totals can be found below.

The prestigious five-day event – now in its fifth year – ran from the 13th – 17th April and catered for over 200 competitors in nine different divisions.

Former champions include 2016 World Junior Champion Macy Callaghan who claimed her respective division in the event’s inaugural year. Since then the event has been won by a range of Australia’s best and most promising junior surfers.

Most states were represented with surfers coming from Queensland, NSW and Victoria.

Words by Ethan Smith Surfing NSW

Results & Scores on Results 2018 page